Lively Little Veli

DSC_0015

DSCN0625

For a small little village, Veli Losinj has a lot going on. Last  Thursday night Veli had a fun run.  A 2.5km track around the town.  I was planning on going, thinking it would be a good way to see the town.  But as this was the day we heard about Bojan, the harpooned dolphin, I wasn’t really in the mood and decided to go for long coastal walk instead to clear my head.  Mike, being a marathon runner, grabbed at the chance and although he didn’t win, the others say he did pretty well.  Pretty much anyone who wasn’t running was down at the town center to cheer the runners on.  Except me of course, but I enjoyed my quiet walk on an almost deserted coastal track.

IMG_1277IMG_1279

Mike was runner number 56

Last Friday night was Fisherman’s night, when the fishermen all come back into town, sell their catch and celebrate.  Matea said this happens most Friday nights in Summer.  In the late afternoon they set up a makeshift bar in the town center, decked out with tables and chairs, where they sell beer and their produce late into the night.  I was having dinner at the house when Tihana told me what all the fuss was about – had I known there was fresh seafood I would’ve been all over it…next Friday perhaps.   Temporary stalls are set up for the night, kids sell shells on the streets, live music plays until midnight and what seems like the whole town and all its visitors make their way down to the center to eat and drink and enjoy the vibes.

DSCN0822DSCN0809

It seemed like the whole village was in the center

dancing in the street

Dancing in the street

Leave a comment